How to Unsend an Email in Gmail

In case you change your mind or decide to undo sending an email, Google Mail allows your request with the unsend feature. And these are the standard steps to unsend an email in Gmail. how-to-unsend-an-email-in-gmail-01

How to Unsend an Email in Gmail

  • Step 1: Enable Undo Send Feature on Gmail.

    step-1-enable-undo-send-feature-on-gmail-01
    Gmail allows you to recall sent emails for 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds. Set up your recall time by opening the Settings menu. Then, click the See all settings.

  • Step 2: Pick a Recall or Unsend Period.

    step-2-pick-a-recall-or-unsend-period-01
    You can only set the recall time for a few seconds. Head to “Undo Send,” and choose among 5, 10, 20, or 30 seconds in the Send cancellation period. Scroll down and click the Save Changes button.

  • Step 3: Undo Sent Email.

    step-3-undo-sent-email-01

    Compose a new email or reply to an email in your Gmail inbox. Then, hit the Send button. Take a glance at your spelling and content, especially check your file attachments. Look for the Message Sent notification. Within 5 to 30 seconds, depending on your email recall time, you can click the Undo selection and stop Gmail from successfully sending the email you need to edit.

Can I Recall My Emails past 30 Seconds?

Unfortunately, the Undo Send only allows you to quickly recall (undo/unsend) emails within 30 seconds or less, depending on your set Send cancellation period

Can I Also Unsend Emails via Android and iOS Devices?

Absolutely! After setting up your Send cancellation period, it also affects your Gmail app set up on your Apple devices, smartphones, and tablets. When you send a message, the “Undo” notification will pop up at the bottom part of your screen. Simply tap on it, and Gmail will recall the email or stop it from reaching your recipient’s inboxes.

Where Does the Recalled Email Go In Gmail?

After hitting the “Unsend” option, the email goes directly to your Drafts. You can add files, edit the entire content, and have the same features and buttons when you compose a new message or reply to an email.

Is There Another Way to Recall Confidential Emails?

If you want to recall a message within 24 hours or more than 30 seconds, the best option is to enable Gmail’s confidential mode. Your recipients cannot forward, copy, and print the emails. They can only view the content before the message expiration date or after inputting a verification code. However, you can not apply this setting for scheduled messages.